What You Need To Know About Domestic Violence
Domestic violence affects millions of people across the world every year. According to the University of Kentucky, 1 out of 4 women and 1 out of 7 men experience domestic violence during their lifetime. Read this blog to learn about domestic violence laws and ways to find help for domestic violence victims.
What is Domestic Violence?
Domestic violence includes any abuse that occurs between people in a domestic relationship. Domestic violence extends beyond physical abuse and includes emotional, financial, and sexual abuse. Although most domestic violence victims are women, people of genders can experience domestic violence. Also, domestic violence can occur in same-sex relationships.
What Are The Signs of Domestic Violence?
Since domestic violence can show up in many forms, If you think you might be a victim of domestic violence, here are a few signs to look out for in romantic partners:
- Your partner tries to isolate you from family and friends
- Your partner tries to force you to leave your job or quit school
- Your partner gaslights you or manipulates you
- Your partner commits any act of physical violence towards you
- Your partner threatens violence or stalking if you attempt to leave the relationship
- Your partner forces or pressures you to engage in unwanted sexual activity
If you know someone who you suspect might be a victim of domestic violence, here are a few red flags to keep an eye out for:
- Any substance abuse
- Impacts on mental health, including increased anxiety, depression, and more.
- Suicidal thoughts or attempts
What Are Your Options If You Are A Victim of Domestic Violence?
If you are a victim of domestic violence in North Carolina, you have the right to file for a Domestic Violence Protection Order. The state of North Carolina offers two types of DVPOs:
- Regular DVPO – A judge can issue up to a 1-year DVPO that prevents the defendant from interacting with the plaintiff. This can be renewed for up to 2 years after a court hearing. The plaintiff must apply for this additional order.
- Temporary Protection Order – this can be issued by either a magistrate or a judge, and can be issued with a court hearing. However, this order can only last until a full court hearing.
Is Domestic Violence a Felony in North Carolina?
Domestic violence can be considered a felony offense. According to the UNC School of Government blog, domestic violence becomes a felony in North Carolina when both parties are in a specific relationship and the crime meets the following criteria:
- The defendant enters the plaintiff’s home with a deadly weapon.
- The defendant releases private images of the plaintiff (also known as revenge porn).
- The defendant commits first-degree murder.
- The defendant commits any of these felonies while violating a DVPO.
- The defendant strangles or seriously injures the victim.
- The defendant violates a no-contact order issued after a hearing or as a no-contact condition of release for any crime
The result depends on the court’s discretion.
How to Report Domestic Violence
If you need to report a domestic violence incident for yourself or someone you know, try any of these options:
- Call a hotline, such as the National Domestic Violence Hotline
- Report it to the local police department
- Talk to a friend or family member about the situation
- Seek psychological help
- Call one of our lawyers to assist
Need to take action regarding a domestic violence situation? Manning Law is here to help. Contact us today to let us know how we can be a resource for you.